How to Freeze Your Location on iPhone – A Complete Solution

How to Freeze Your Location on iPhone

Location sharing helps you find your iPhone, update locations with friends and family, and so on. However, you may need to know how to freeze your location on iPhone in some cases so that no one can identify or trace your location. In this regard, Find My is particularly an iPhone location sharing app that allows you to share location with your near and dear ones.

Take note that Apple combined Find My Friends and Find My iPhone since iOS 13 to create the Find My app. Without further ado, let’s get into the article on how to turn off location without someone knowing.

Check out how to freeze your location on iPhone in 3 easy ways

Sometimes you just want to freeze, pause, or switch off your location tracking device for safety and security issues. Therefore, your query could be about how to disable, freeze, or lock your location using the Find My app. Here are some methods on how to stop sharing location on your iPhone for security and safety purposes.

Method 1: How to freeze your location on iPhone by turning on the Airplane Mode

How to freeze your location on iPhone by turning on the Airplane Mode

The easiest and quickest way to stop sharing your location is to turn on the Airplane mode. It will instantly freeze location on your iPhone without another person being informed.

Airplane Mode stops iPhone location sharing. Therefore, you can’t trace or detect your iPhone. Moreover, you won’t be able to transmit or receive anything that requires cellular data, including voice calls and SMS messaging.

Method 2: How to freeze your location on iPhone by turning off location sharing

Using the Find My app, you may quickly pause or lock your location on iPhone. If you wish to pause sharing your location with all the people irrespectively, just follow the steps below:

How to stop sharing location on iPhone from the Find My app
  • Open the Find My app.
  • Tap on the Me icon.
  • Then turn off Share My Location.

In addition to that, you can remove any member from the Find My app list to stop sharing your location with those you don’t want to disclose. Follow the directions to remove them:

how to turn off location without someone knowing
  • Find the People option on the Find My app and select members from the list.
  • Swipe the name to the left and remove.

Method 3: How to turn off precise location on iPhone

If you wonder how to make your location partially unavailable, this feature will be helpful to you. It allows you to turn off Precise Location in the Find My setting. Consequently, it will only share the city location you are in, but not the precise address. Follow these simple steps:

how to turn off precise location on find my iPhone
  • Open Settings and then select Privacy.
  • Find Location Services and tap on Find My.
  • Make sure Allow Location Access is enabled.
  • Then turn the Precise Location off.

How to stop sharing location on iPhone

Go to Settings > Privacy > Location Services and turn off location sharing to stop sharing your location with all apps and services, even if only for a short time. This disables the use of your location by all apps on your device, including Maps.

How to pause location on Find My iPhone

You can easily turn off or pause Find My iPhone without letting your friends know you’re trying to hide your location from them. Just follow the steps below to pause your location on iPhone.

  • Open the Settings of your iPhone.
  • Tap on the Apple ID on top.
  • Now press on Find My.
  • Finally, turn off Find My iPhone.

How to temporarily turn off Find My Friends on iPhone

If you are thinking about how to turn off or hide your location temporarily, simply go to the People option from the Find My app>Tap on the member from the list>Stop Sharing My Location.

How to stop sharing iPhone location without them knowing on Find My Friends

Stop sharing location on iPhone by simply disabling Share My Location. Go to Setting> Tap on Apple ID> Find My> Toggle off Share My Location. Alternatively, just turn on the Airplane Mode to stop sharing location.

Wrap up

Disabling your iPhone location sharing can vary from person to person. To benefit the user, Apple comes up with apps like Find My that facilitate users to share their location. However, you might be heading somewhere you don’t want the people around you to know your movement. Or, you might be considering the safety and security issues. Therefore, you need to find a solution to stop iPhone location sharing.

We’ve explained how to freeze your location on iPhone using location services, but there are other ways. For instance, you can use a quality VPN app to change your location or encrypt your internet connection to hide the IP address.

David Anderson
David is a professional article writer having experience with iOS apps. He has a vast knowledge of photography, music, health, fitness, utility, and business. He is working for XlightMedia as an iPhone app reviewer and content writer.